mommabmusings











{May 28, 2012}   Scones ‘n’ Things

I love cooking. I also get bored easily and there’s not much room in our new place to do much in the way of my normal crafty stuff. And since Sarge was telling me that he was still kind of hungry after our rather unusually small dinner (I got lazy when making dinner tonight), I broke out my favorite cookbook and dug through it for something new to try. I have several cookbooks. But my favorite one is easy to tell apart from the others: the pages are warped from moisture after being set next to my cooking so many times, there’s several recipes bookmarked, and if you look through it, there’s pencil markings where I’ve made notes and tweaked recipes. This cookbook didn’t get packed with everything else when we moved, I stuck it with the necessities that got loaded in the car with us. That’s how much I love this book. It’s also not your normal cookbook. This one was put together with recipes and stories written by sci-fi authors; probably the reason why I loved it so much in the first place. I’ve tried several of the recipes in it, including one of the chili recipes, and everything so far has been delicious. Not everything in it is recipes: there’s the Parable of the Cow and the Sofa, for instance, or Spotting UFOs While Canning Tomatoes. The whole book is educational and entertaining, besides nutritional. Talk about one well-rounded collection of pages! The title, by the way, is ‘Serve It Forth! Cooking with Anne McCaffrey’. McCaffrey has long been one of my favorite authors and I had no idea she’d done a cookbook until the delightful day when I unwrapped it (either Christmas or birthday, can’t remember now because it’s been so long). She’s done two actually, I believe the first is out of print now, but you can still find ‘Cooking Out of this World’ for sale online. I’m rambling on about this, I know, but I do dearly love my very strange cookbook. Back to tonight’s dilemma: bored and hungry, with a hungry husband to boot. So I thumbed through my book, stopping to read through some favorite anecdotes and recipes, and stumbled upon a recipe for scones. My sister, the Brit, has lived in England for years and when we visited several years ago I swore I was going to try clotted cream and scones while in England; alas, I never did. The scone recipe in my book had the advantage over several other recipes that I already have all the ingredients on hand, which meant I wouldn’t have to make a late trip to the grocery store after all. And I found out this evening for the first time that my dear hubby of 9 years loves scones. So I made them. And they were delicious. And my presumptuous tweaking of a recipe for something I had never made worked out pretty good too. And since I did tweak the recipe, I’m pretty sure writing down my version here doesn’t infringe on copyright laws, even if it does, I’ve named my source 😉

Drop Scones:

2 cups flour

2 heaping tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

3 tbsp sugar

1/4-1/2 tsp cinnamon (the original calls for a dash, but I like my cinnamon)

1/2 tsp almond extract

1 egg

1 cup milk (I used whole milk, since I’ve only made these once, I don’t know what difference using a lower fat milk might make)

Preheat oven to 450 degrees F (200 C) Mix all ingredients thoroughly. Drop spoonfuls into well-greased muffin cups. (Original recipe says not to use muffin papers because they will stick. As long as you grease your muffin tin well, they do pop right out easily) Bake for 10-15 minutes (I only baked mine for 10 and they came out well done and slightly browned, we’re also up in the mountains so you might need more or less time if you live closer to sea level) until well-risen and slightly browned. Makes 10-12, depending on size. Serving suggestion is hot with butter and jam, and clotted cream if you can find some. These are delicious and hearty, and pretty easy to whip up. And even got Sarge’s approval! 🙂

Leave a Reply

et cetera
